The Parish Council is an important part of local government. It is a corporate body, the first elected level of our three tier system of local authority and closest to the electorate. Parish Councillors are unpaid and politically non-aligned. There are over 9,000 parish councils in England.

Exminster Parish Council consists of up to eleven councillors; elected every four years. All parish councillors are required to abide by the Code of Conduct.

In addition to the councillors there is a Parish Clerk and a Deputy Clerk.

District Councillors

(Kenn Valley Ward)  – Cllr Charles Nuttall (Lib Dem), Cllr Alison Foden (Lib Dem) and Cllr Andy Swain (Lib Dem)

County Councillor (Exminster & Kenton Division) – Cllr Alan Connett (Lib Dem)

Member of Parliament (Central Devon) – Mel Stride MP (Con)